Panasonic Lumix Wins My Heart in the Underwater Camera Category!

If you’re anything like me, your technology takes a beating.  I drop my phone on a daily basis.  I have submerged an iTouch in a dorm toilet.  My last few cameras have been ruined due to getting beach sand in the lens.

Panasonic Lumix

So when the time came to purchase a new, waterproof camera, I knew it would be important to choose a sturdy model that could roll with my clumsy lifestyle.

I first went on Best Buy’s website and scrolled up and down the page with all the waterproof cameras.  Being the lady that I am, I was attracted to all the magentas and the blues and the gem-tones but quickly shock my head and went to investigate the most important factor to someone on a college budget: cost.

reef scene

On attempt two, I visited a good friend of mine… Amazon.  I quickly scrolled past the $300s and the $400s… For what I plan to do with the camera, take pictures of my shenanigans aboard kayaks and under waterfalls, a higher priced camera wouldn’t be a sound investment.

The camera I settled for is the Panasonic Lumix.  This baby is usable at underwater depths up to 40 feet, durable, easy-to-use, and fits in your back pocket.  The Lumix not only has a cool name but take crystal clear pictures that can’t be beat for the $250 price at which I bought it on Amazon.com.

flounder

I knew upon using it in the Keys to capture the beautiful reef life that I had made the right decision.  The camera comes equipped with a bright yellow floating handle.  If you drop it, it won’t become a part of the Little Mermaid’s collection.

Although my version doesn’t come with a fully-functioning GPS system, it does have a 12 megapixel sensor.  It also takes a 3968 X 2976 image and records short videos in case I ever find myself in a cage in a shark tank.

squids

And the best part?  Mine is a pretty blue!

3 thoughts on “Panasonic Lumix Wins My Heart in the Underwater Camera Category!

  1. Hi there you have a great blog over here! Thanks for sharing this interesting information for us! If you keep up this good work I’ll visit your website again. Thanks!

Make a splash! Leave a comment.

